My Mom

My name is Winter Thayer and I am writing this first of a series of posts in honor of my mother, who is under felony indictment for cultivation of cannabis. Because she was growing it for me, I feel compelled to explain the situation. She almost lost me when I was twenty-eight days old, and I haven’t been easy on her since.  It’s a good thing she works at taking care of us full-time, because as it turns out, my brother needed her too. She has taught me that it is great to be alive no matter how tough times are.

My parents have worked hard to help to make our place in Vermont secure for us, my brother is at rest here and my sister and I hope to raise kids here.  The sustainability we hope for reaches across generations. And, even though she thinks about generations to come, my mom is fun to be with.

Her gardens are always changing and she has all kinds of different plants; I am constantly finding new ones I hadn’t seen, hiding here and there. Our whole family gardens. In the early years of the Rutland Farmer’s market Tristan grew and sold specialty garden lettuces and supplied the Victorian Inn with seasonal produce. He used to complain that Mom planted too many flowers, not enough vegetables, sure that she had her priorities wrong. By the time Tristan came back from his yearlong rotary exchange in Chile he looked at her gardens and said, “I am so glad to come home to Vermont, nobody has anything like this mom.”

As kids, we grew up eating alpine strawberries from the greenhouse in winter, fresh blueberries and raspberries in summer, tasty vegetables of all kinds, and flowers, lots and lots of flowers. Needless to say, Tristan and the rest of us came to love the flowers; who could resist? I have learned that gardens are not just to look at, too much to see in a snapshot. To know them you have to live in them and see the plants unfold over the seasons.

From the time Tristan was in nursery school until after I was in kindergarten, mom worked in the Little Red Schoolhouse, our free community preschool. In grade school she was always a room-mother for us. She taught ELF through all of our elementary school years and she always chaperoned our field trips. She served as board member and president of the Gilbert Hart Library. She is a member of the Master Gardeners, a program that teaches about gardens in the community. She has worked on a memorial garden at the library and at the Boy and the Boot garden at the traffic light in the village. She has been a Justice of the Peace for five terms, and she hopes to be elected again in November. Her participation in our  community has set an example for me that I aspire to.

Our family came to this hill to rent a barn down the road when there were only 5 year-around families here. Mom and Dad bought our land when you could still get land for an affordable price. Dad is a Vietnam vet, an English major, forester and logger, sugar maker, and finally, a manufacturer’s rep for the last 25 years.  He cut the timber for the house and local folks built it for us. In the last thirty years this neighborhood has provided a stage for all of the changes Vermont is experiencing. Our family is particularly concerned with sustainability in the landscape, and my sister and I hope to contribute to that goal in this place.

I love my mother, I am her biggest fan. Because she will not be allowed to tell her story to a jury of her peers, I feel that I need to tell it here. When adversity has presented itself, we have done the most honest and least harmful thing we could manage.

All of us thought she was the best growing up.  Now that I’ve grown up, I know we were right.

This entry was posted in State v. Thayer. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My Mom

  1. steve says:

    dear thayer family,this comes straight from my heart. please excuse my grammer and spelling and order of post because i have MS and have been mostly cognitively effected.since it is from my heart it will not be corrected.i have had ms for 16years now. im quite lucky because i have very little mobility issues.for the last six years i have extreme pain in my neck and shoulder.it is so bad that for the first two years i sat in a couch staring out a window waiting for the pain to hit me like clock work. it was so bad i would lie on the floor in the fetal position crying.it screwed me up mentally and physically.i was put on methedone morphine and codeine over the six years.i was taking up to two hundred mgs of methodone for the pain and it hardley did anything. if your on heroine it usally takes forty mgs to wean you off of it.one day my freind of 40years caME OVER TO SEE ME and i could hear him,see him but did not know who he was. i than decided it was better to be in pain than to live like that. i went into hospital for two weeks to get off methadone and i dont ever want too see that stuff again. i finally got a new neuroligist and he said i cant help you until we start fresh with no medicine. he said you are going to suffer before i can help you and i will do my best than be on the phone if i cant find the answer.he got me off all my meds and he did make phone calls until my pain was under control.steve and prescription drugs dont mix.also i fogot to say i was operated on two times and i refused to take any pain killers.since our brain can only process one pain at a time i was lucky when the ms pain came because it over shadowed my operation pain. i feel for anyone that has any pain small or big because PAIN SUCKS.over one hundred people died last year on prescription drugs.zero people died on cannabis. i also lost seventy pounds at one point from 190 to 12o.cannabis let me eat again and i now weight 165.cannabis also gives me endless amount of energy so i dont have to stay on the couch all day long. it did not take my pain away but made it more tollerable. also it helped me mentally.our medicine cabinets should be filled with joints and not deadly prescription drugs.i think its time all doctors relize the benefits of thc.i feel for the thayer family for all the pain they have had to endore over the years. life is to short to waste on needlss things and should be spent with your children and grandchildren.i lost alot in the past six years but i also learned alot about life.max feel good and do what you have to to feel good.again sorry for my grammer and spelling. take care always and good luck sincerely steve.

  2. Max, continue to put a face and heart to this “Wallingford woman,” that is being persecuted and prosecuted by our state. All the other moms who know your Mom, and have grown our children together with her – join you in supporting her. So let me know of anything this network of “Friends of Sue” can do. Writing letters, giving testimony of her character, informational picketing of the inadequate Medical Marijuana Law, a petition of some kind, ANYTHING that will help you speak for her while she can’t . Seriously, there is a lot of anger about the way she is being treated and it could be put to good use. You are a good son, in a great family.

  3. sharon says:

    Max, this is the way to survive. All of us. Talk. Say what you mean. All will listen and All love and care, Sharon

  4. Debra says:

    Hi Max,

    I was so excited to learn of your kidney transplant…and have been so incredulous at the lunacy surrounding your mother’s legal battle. I certainly hope that both sanity and humanity prevail!

    Anyway, I just saw a link to your blog on FB and enjoyed reading your post and seeing some pictures of Lucy.

    I’ve been teaching fulltime at Mill River for the past four years now. Please give your parents and Lucy my love.

    Mrs. Baasch / aka Debra 🙂

  5. Dawn White says:

    How I loved reading Vermontales and your tribute to your family. Here’s a tribute to you. Here’s hoping everything continues to go well for all of you.

    ALL’S WELL (the other side of Wallingford) LOVE DAWN

Leave a Reply

